Tour de France – Stage 21 Recap

Alberto Bettiol, Mike Woods, Rigoberto Urán, Sebastian Langeveld, Simon Clarke, Tanel Kangert and Tom Scully rode into Paris on Sunday as the 106th Tour de France came to a close.

Kiwi Tom Scully instigated the Tour’s last breakaway, attacking out of the peloton on the opening lap around the Champs-Élysées circuit. The sprint teams kept the four-rider escape on a shot leash, shutting down the move before the last lap. Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) won the prestigious final stage sprint.   

The general classification, per tradition, was locked up on Saturday in the Alps. Rigoberto Urán finished seventh overall, five minutes down on compatriot Egan Bernal, the first Colombian winner of the Tour de France.  

Pink lined the Champs-Élysées. Our EF Education First co-workers were out in full force to watch the final kilometers of the Tour and savor our collective efforts over the last month. Following our photo shoot in front of the Arc de Triomphe, we joined in on the celebrations.